Everest Trekking Routes

Everest Base Camp Trek is the most well-liked trek in Nepal, attracting 30000 guests yearly. Earlier than Sir Edmund Hillary constructed Tenzing-Hillary Airport in 1964, there have been solely two methods to achieve Everest Base Camp. The primary trekking route started in Kathmandu and took about 4-5 weeks to achieve the bottom camp. And its alternate route began in Jiri after an extended drive from Kathmandu; the trek on this typical path took about 5-8 days simply to achieve Namche. Now, modern-day trekkers are discovering appropriate routes based mostly on their comfort.

Beneath are a few of the well-known trekking routes to Everest Base Camp:

EBC: The usual route

The usual Everest Base Camp Trek itinerary, which leaves from Lukla, is considered one of many best expeditions within the Khumbu area, with a 95% to 97% success price. Starting in Lukla, it travels by Phakding, Namche Bazar, Tengboche, Dingboche, Dughla, Lobuche, and Gorak Shep earlier than arriving at Everest Base Camp.  

14 days Itinerary

Day 1: Arrival in Kathmandu (1,345 m).

Day 2: Flight from  Kathmandu to Lukla (2,840 m), then descent to Phakding (2,610 m)

Day 3: Mountain climbing to Namche Bazaar (3,440 m)

Day 4: At Namche Bazaar, acclimatization day

Day 5: Trekking to Tyangboche (3,860 m) 

Day 6: Trek to Dingboche (4,360 m)

Day 7: Dingboche acclimatization day

Day 8: A trekking expedition to Lobuche (4,940 m)

Day 9: Reaching Everest Base Camp (5,364 m)

Day 10: Trek to Kalapatthar (5,545 m), then descend to Pheriche (4,270 m).

Day 11: Return to Namche Bazaar (3,440 m) 

Day 12: Trekking downhill to Lukla (2,840 m).

Day 13: Flight again to Kathmandu  (1,345 m)

Day 14: Departure day

EBC: Gokyo Chola Move Route

The Gokyo Chola Move Route is a way more superior and adventurous trek route within the Khumbu area The primary half of this trek follows the normal Everest Base Map Trek. It begins with Lukla and follows by Namche Bazaar, Tyangboche, Dingboche, Lobuche, Everest Base Camp, and Kalapatthar. Nevertheless, from there, this expedition deviates in direction of Dzongla, taking the path to Thangnak by way of Chola La Move, and shifting in direction of Gokyo Valley quite than returning by way of the Pherice route. This trek takes as much as 20 days, passing by distant and quieter locations within the Himalayas.

20-day itinerary 

Day 1: Arrival in Kathmandu (1,345 m).

Day 2: Sightseeing in Kathmandu

Day 3: flight from Kathmandu to Lukla (2,840 m), then descent to Phakding (2,610 m)

Day 4: Trekking to Namche Bazaar (3,440 m)

Day 5: Acclimatization at Namche Bazar

Day 6: Ascend to Tyangboche (3,860 m).

Day 7: Trek to Dingboche (4,360 m).

Day 8: Acclimatization at Dingboche

Day 9: Trek to Lobuche (4,940 m)

Day 10: Lobuche to Gorak Shep (5,170 m), then hike to Everest Base Camp (5,364 m).

Day 11: Trek from Gorak Shep to Kalapatthar (5,545 m) and descend to Dzongla (4,830 m).

Day 12: Trek to Thangnak (4,680 m) by way of Cho La Move (5,420 m).

Day 13: Trek to Gokyo (4,790 m). 

Day 14: Ascend to Gokyo Ri (5,357 m). 

Day 15: Descend to Dole (4,110 m)

Day 16: Dole to Namche Bazaar (3,440 m).

Day 17: Return to Lukla (2,840 m)

Day 18: Flight from Lukla to Kathmandu (1,345 m)

Day 19: Relaxation, store, and discover town by yourself.

Day 20: Tour wrap-up and departure

Everest Base Camp with Three Passes Trek 

The Three-Move Trek is probably the most troublesome and adventurous technique to attain Everest Base Camp.  It supplies the very best views of all of the EBC routes and travels by probably the most remoted and wildest components of the Himalayas This trek crosses by three mountain passes, i.e., Kongma La (5,535m), Cho La (5,420 m), and Renjo La (5,360 m), ascending by excessive elevations on quite a few events.

22-day Itinerary

Day 1: Arrival at Kathmandu’s (1,345 m)  

Day 2: Sightseeing in Kathmandu 

Day 3: Flight from  Kathmandu to Lukla (2,840 m), then descent to Phakding (2,610 m)

Day 4: Trek to Namche Bazaar (3,440 m)

Day 5: Acclimatization Day in Namche

Day 6: Namche to Tengboche (3,860 m) trek

Day 7: Trekking to Dingboche (4,360 m) 

Day 8: Relaxation and acclimatization day 

Day 9: Trekking to Chhukung (4,730 m) and Chhukung Ri (5,559 m)

Day 10: Hike by Kongma La Move (5,535 m) to Lobuche (4,940 m).

Day 11: Gorak Shep (5,170 m) to Everest Base Camp (5,364 m) and trek again to Gorak Shep

Day 12: A climb up Kalapatthar (5,545 m) within the morning adopted by a descent to Dzongla (4,830 m).

Day 13: Dzongla to Thangnak (4,680 m) by way of Cho La Move (5,420 m)

Day 14: Trekking to Gokyo (4,790 m) 

Day 15: Acclimatization day at Gokyo and hike to Gokyo Ri (5,357 m)

Day 16: Trekking to Lungdhen (4,380 m) by way of Renjo La Move (5,360 m)

Day 17: Downhill descent to Thame (3,820 m)

Day 18: Thame to Namche Bazaar (3,440 m)

Day 19: Trekking all the way down to Lukla (2,840 m)

Day 20: Flight again to Kathmandu (1,345 m) from Lukla 

Day 21: Relaxation and exploration day on the capital

Day 22: Departing day


Mountaineers who’re planning to climbing Mount Everest usually follows the usual route. Each route has its personal set of adventures. Whichever route you’re taking, you’ll undoubtedly have the possibility to partake in one of many world’s most famous and iconic trekking experiences, which has at the very least made it to the want checklist of each mountaineering fanatic. 

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles